Tax Incentive Review Council


  • Meetings are held annually.


  • Thomas M. Bernabei, Mayor
    No Expiration
  • Jeff Gruber, Canton City Schools
    No Expiration
  • Alan Harold, County Auditor
    No Expiration
  • Greg Hawk, Councilman
    No Expiration
  • India Jenkins, Public Appointee
    Term Expires December 31, 2021
  • Kathy Jordan, Plain Local Schools
    No Expiration
  • R.A. Mallonn, City Financial Officer
    No Expiration
  • Janelle Lee, Public Appointee
    Term Expires December 31, 2021
  • Jason Schatzel, Canton Local Schools
    No Expiration
  • Mary Jo Slick, Board of Education
    No Expiration
  • Sam Sliman, Mayor Alternate
    No Expiration

Appointment Process

Members are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by Council.

Membership Requirements

The board consists of:

  • The Mayor or his designee
  • One member of Council, appointed by the Council President
  • County auditor or his designee
  • Chief financial officer or the city or his designee
  • An individual appointed by the board of education of each district to which tax exemptions apply
  • Two members of the public
  • At least four members of the council must be residents of the City
  • At least one of the public members must be a minority


Annually, the Tax Incentive Review Council:

(a) Reviews all agreements granting exemptions from property taxation and any performance or audit reports required by those agreements.

(b) Reviews all exemptions from property taxation resulting from the declaration of public purpose improvements.

(c) Reviews the compliance of each recipient of a tax exemption with the nondiscriminatory hiring policies developed by the county or city.

On the basis of these determinations, the Council submits to Council written recommendations for continuation, modification, or cancellation of each agreement.

Term Length

Two years


Members serve without compensation.


Ohio Revised Code 570962, 5709883, 5709.85