Records Requests

The Ohio Open Records Law, first enacted in 1963, is contained in Section 149.43 of the Ohio Revised Code. The law describes what records are available, what agencies are covered, what fees can be charged, who can ask for records, etc. Records include all records kept by any public office as well as records of both non-profit and for-profit private schools.

Anyone may request public records and no statement of purpose is required. In fact records requests need not even be submitted in writing and can be made anonymously. There are no restrictions to the use of records and the Ohio Open Records Law does not specify a time limit on open records request.

Please refer to the table below for the list of Records Custodians for each department within the City of Canton.  Keep in mind that all records requests will be made through the City of Canton's Law Department.

You may make a request by contacting the appropriate records custodian below or by completing the online Public Records Request Form.

Records Custodians

Department Employee Name(s) Phone Number Email
Auditor John Slebodnik (330) 489-3226 john.slebodnik@cantonohio.gov
Building Code Jerrod Pennix (330) 430-7800 jerod.pennix@cantonohio.gov
Building Maintenance Terry Turify (330) 489-3275 terri.turify@cantonohio.gov
Civic Center Blake Schilling (330) 489-3090 blake.schilling@cantonohio.gov
Civil Service Sarah Kennedy (330) 489-3360 sara.miday@cantonohio.gov
Collection Systems Lorrie Isla (330) 489-3031 lorrie.isla@cantonohio.gov
Community Development Kim Fox (330) 489-3344 kim.fox@cantonohio.gov
Council David Dougherty (330) 489-3223 david.dougherty@cantonohio.gov
Courts Kody Gonzalez (330) 489-3203 kody.gonzalez@cantonohio.gov
Dispatch Lisa Broucker & Amber Staten (330) 489-3100 lisa.broucker@cantonohio.gov & amber.staten@cantonohio.gov
Engineering Alicia Davis (330) 489-3381 alicia.davis@cantonohio.gov
Fair Housing Jenna Bucklew (330) 438-4133 jenna.bucklew@cantonohio.gov
Fire Kwameshallahu Bennet & Jay Fisher (330) 489-3411 kwameshallahu.bennett@cantonohio.gov & jay.fisher@cantonohio.gov
Health Robert Knight (330) 489-3231 rknight@cantonhealth.org
Human Resources Amy Cole (330) 438-4136 amy.cole@cantonohio.gov
Income Tax Michael McEnaney (330) 430-7900 michael.mcenaney@cantonohio.gov
Information Technology David Hodges (330) 438-6101 david.hodges@cantonohio.gov
Law Cindy Russell (330) 489-3251 cynthia.russell@cantonohio.gov
Mayor's Office Christopher Hardesty (330) 438-4307 christopher.hardesty@cantonohio.gov
Motor Vehicle Darla Hinderer (330) 438-6960 darla.hinderer@cantonohio.gov
Parks & Recreation Amie Blitz (330) 489-3015 amie.biltz@cantonohio.gov
Planning Matthew Bailey (330) 438-4132 matthew.bailey@cantonohio.gov
Police Lisa Broucker & Amber Staten (330) 489-3100 lisa.broucker@cantonohio.gov & amber.staten@cantonohio.gov
Purchasing Andrew Roth & Kathryn Wise (330) 489-3245 andrew.roth@cantonohio.gov & kathryn.wise@cantonohio.gov
Sanitation Nikki Saddler (330) 489-3020 nikki.saddler@cantonohio.gov
Street Rose Wallace (330) 489-3030 rose.wallace@cantonohio.gov
Treasurer Michael McEnaney (330) 489-3261 michael.mcenaney@cantonohio.gov
Water Chris Miller (330) 489-3315 chris.miller@cantonohio.gov
Water Reclamation Dena Watson (330) 489-3350 dena.watson@cantonohio.gov